August 2, 2004   Ellettsville Parks and Recreation Board Meeting Minutes


The Ellettsville Parks and Recreation Board met on August 2, 2004, at the Ellettsville Town Hall. Members present were Darlyne Sowder, President; Edwin Macatangay, Vice-President; L.D. Axsom, Denise Knell and Jeff Frownfelter, Secretary. Darlyne Sowder called the meeting to order at 7:09 PM.


Minutes from Previous Meetings

Edwin Macatangay motioned to accept the minutes from the July 6th Meeting, Denise Knell seconded the motion; minutes approved 5-0.


Floor Open for Public Comment

No public comment.


Old Business

5 Year Master Plan

Professor Segedy reported that he had lost the notes for changes to the Master Plan. Darlyne Sowder resent the notes and the completed document should be finalized as soon as the Professor can attend to the project.


Skate Park

Damage to the Skate Park and Restroom facility has stopped. There no longer seems to be a need to lock the doors and hire someone to attend to the building.


Wishing Well Nature Park

No news or update.


Memorial Park

The Board discussed purchasing a flagpole for the park.  Recommendations will be made to the Ellettsville Street Department, who controls the Veterans donation fund for park maintenance, for a new flagpole and flag. The pole will allow for protected access to the flag and a light for display of the flag 24 hours a day. A flag should also be purchased for the new pole.


Campbell's Park

A review of the rental form for the shelter houses took place and revisions were made to the document. There still needs to be decisions made on the signage for each shelter house and a way to display the reservation signs. Darlyne will contact Hall Sign company for suggestions and costs.



The budget will remain as is for final approval of the Town Board.


The House of Prayer is expected to present the final plans for their weekend use of the park facilities at the next Parks Board meeting.



The meeting was moved to adjourn by Edwin Macatangay and seconded by Denise Knell. All members voted to adjourn, meeting adjourned at 7:55 PM. Motion carried 5-0.