December 04, 2003





The Ellettsville, Indiana Plan Commission met in regular session at 7:00 p.m., Thursday, December 04, 2003. Members present were Frank Buczolich, President; David Drake, Vice-President; Geraldine McIntyre, Terry Baker, Don Calvert and Sandra Hash.  William Evans, Secretary was absent.  Frank Buczolich started the meeting by leading everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.  










NEW BUSINESS: Hoosier Outdoor Advertising-Sign Approval.


A representative from Hoosier Outdoor Advertising came before the Planning and Zoning Commission to request approval for a new sign that their company wanted to place in a similar location across St. Rd. 46 from its original site.  Relative to the dimensional qualities of the sign that they wanted to erect, they were told that they would have to appear before the Board of Zoning Appeals for a variance to do this.  There was more discussion among the commission members and Mr. Bill Land, Town Planner about this and it was decided that a meeting would have to be scheduled with the Board of Zoning Appeals for review.


 NEW BUSINESS:  Site Plan for Ellettsville Fire Station.


Mr. Jim Davis, Ellettsville Fire Chief presented the site plans for the new fire station.  There was discussion between him and the Planning and Zoning Commission members about the new fire station. Terry Baker made the motion to approve the site plans for the new fire station.  David Drake seconded.  Motion carried 6-0.


NEW BUSINESS:  Site Plan for Ellettsville Police Station.


Mr. Ron McGlocklin, Ellettsville Town Marshall presented the site plans for the new police station.  He also discussed the fact that the Smithville Telephone Company would also be using the driveway for their trucks only.  The public would not use the driveway.  There was discussion between the Planning and Zoning members and Ron about the site plans.  Terry Baker made the motion to approve the site plan for the new Police Station.  David Drake seconded.  Motion carried 6-0.


NEW BUSINESS:  Hearing of Adoption of the New Sub-Division Ordinance.


Mr. Bill Land, Town Planner, stated the purpose of the new sub-division ordinance.  It will replace chapters 851-859 with revised chapters.  The replacement ordinance proposes to change the sub-division regulations.  He explained the changes of general administration, rules of procedure and standards for the Ellettsville Planning Commission pertaining to the regulations governing sub-divisions.  The fees and penalties will remain the same and are outlined in the Town Code, Chapter 110.  The Zoning Map will remain the same pending future amendments.  The land area affected by the changes would include all the land within the Ellettsville town limits.  The proposed ordinance concerning the zoning maps adopted to accept the reference maps would then be the official zoning maps. After the ordinance document is drafted and signed it would then go to the Town Council for final approval.  We would think about the last meeting in December for the Town Council perhaps hear our recommendations for this revision The sub-division changes are simply an effort to modernize the sub-division code.  Mr. Land



also explained many other facets and variances of the new ordinance.  He also explained that this is a sub-division regulation and not the zoning code.  These could be amended in the future on a periodic basis.  It was also his recommendation to honor the three workshops that we did and move this on forward even though we might have to make a few punctuation changes or word changes and move it on to the council.


 David Drake made the motion to approve the 1966-zoning map with amendments and additions through November 30th, 2003.  Terry Baker seconded.  Motion carried 6-0.




There weren’t any minutes presented to the Planning and Zoning Board for approval.




A motion was made to adjourn the Dec. 04, 2003 meeting by Terry Baker.  David Drake seconded.  Motion carried 6-0.






_____________________________                          __________________________

Frank Buczolich                                                            David Drake    

President                                                                      Vice President



 _____________________________                         __________________________

Geraldine McIntyre                                                   Terry Baker


_____________________________                          __________________________

Don Calvert                                                                  Sandra Hash                                        




William Evans