February 8, 2010




The Ellettsville, Indiana, Town Council met for a Regular Meeting on Monday, February 8, 2010 at the Fire Department Training and Conference Room.  Phillip Smith called the meeting to order at 7:30 p.m. Sandra Hash led the Pledge of Allegiance.  Phillip Smith led in prayer. 


Roll Call:  Members present were Phillip Smith, President; Scott Oldham, Vice-President; Dianna Bastin.  Sandra Hash, Clerk-Treasurer and Darla Brown, Town Attorney were also present.  David Drake and Dan Swafford were absent.  Supervisors Present:  Jim Davis, Jay Humphrey, Mike Farmer, Jeff Farmer, Rick Coppock and Connie Griffin were present.


Certificates of Recognition

Phillip Smith presented certificates of recognition for years of service to Terry Baker and Frank Buczolich from the Town of Ellettsville and the Ellettsville Plan Commission.



Phillip Smith announced he had two people interested in the appointments to the Plan Commission but they needed more time to take care of family matters before beginning.  He should know by the end of the week.


Approval of Minutes

Phillip Smith entertained a motion for the approval of the minutes for the Regular Meeting January 25, 2010.  Scott Oldham so moved.   Dianna Bastin seconded.  Roll Call Vote:  Phillip Smith – yes; Scott Oldham – yes; Dianna Bastin – yes; David Drake – absent; Dan Swafford – absent.  Motion carried 3-0.


Accounts Payable Vouchers

Phillip Smith entertained a motion for action to pay Accounts Payable Vouchers.  Dianna Bastin so moved.  Scott Oldham seconded.  Roll Call Vote:  Phillip Smith – yes; Scott Oldham – yes; Dianna Bastin – yes; David Drake – absent; Dan Swafford – absent.  Motion carried 3-0.


Proclamation - Tri Kappa Week February 21-28, 2010 and Ellettsville’s Chapter for 50 Years of Community Service

Phillip Smith read the proclamation.  The Ellettsville Town Council does hereby proclaim that February 21-28, 2010 is to be Tri Kappa Week in the town of Ellettsville, and the Year 2010 as the year honoring our own Ellettsville Tri Kappa Chapter for 50 generous years of dedicated service.  We make these proclamations in recognition of the contributions of hardworking women who have served in Ellettsville’s Tri Kappa during the past 50 years, of women who have served in Tri Kappa elsewhere in the State of Indiana, and of all women who will serve in this fine organization in the future.  We invite all community members, and Hoosiers everywhere, to take note of this special observance and this special community asset.  Adopted this 8th day of February in the year of our Lord, Two Thousand Ten.


Ordinances on Second Reading

Ordinance 10-01 to Create Separate Funds for Vehicle Replacement in Both the Water and Wastewater Funds

Dianna Bastin made a motion Ordinance 10-01 to create separate funds for vehicle replacement in both the Water and Wastewater funds be established.  Scott Oldham seconded.  Roll Call Vote:  Phillip Smith – yes; Scott Oldham – yes; Dianna Bastin – yes; David Drake – absent; Dan Swafford – absent.  Motion carried 3-0.


New Business

JA Benefits, LLC, request to represent Ellettsville Employee Benefit Programs

J.D. Powell, JA Benefits – The question arose a couple of weeks ago regarding whether the Town could subsidize a Medicare Supplement policy for an employee.  Through research in answering that question, some services were identified that his company could provide which the Town is not currently receiving.  He stated he was at the meeting to answer any follow-up questions the Council may have as well as to ask them to consider appointing his firm as the Town’s representative moving forward in regards to the Town’s Employee Benefits programs.  Phillip Smith reiterated that their services were on a commission basis only with no charge to the Town of Ellettsville.  Mr. Powell confirmed that nothing would change in regards to cost to the Town.  It would only appoint his firm as the agent of record for the Town.  Dianna Bastin asked what would change for the employees at this time.  Mr. Powell responded that nothing would change until renewal time in October.  He will provide a contact sheet to employees and work with Sandra Hash on administrative needs.  Dianna Bastin suggested it would be good for him to meet with employees prior to October in order to introduce himself.  Mr. Powell commented he is willing to hold introductory meetings and listen to questions and feedback from employees.  He went on to say he has letters with him which require signatures to notify carriers of the change in agent.  There would be about a two week time period after the letters are sent before they can actually begin their work.  He went on to say he would be willing to start looking for other carriers and plans if they so desired and if the Council wanted to, those carriers could be changed prior to October.  Scott Oldham asked Mr. Powell to go ahead so that could be presented to the employees and to the Council for a decision if money could be saved.  Dianna Bastin made a motion to begin the process with JA Benefits, LLC to become our Employee Benefit Program.  Scott Oldham seconded.  Roll Call Vote:  Phillip Smith – yes; Scott Oldham – yes; Dianna Bastin – yes; David Drake – absent; Dan Swafford – absent.  Motion carried 3-0.

Town of Ellettsville and Indiana Department of Transportation Project Coordination Contract

Scott Oldham made a motion to table this item based upon some outstanding paperwork which needs to come in.  Dianna Bastin seconded the motion.  Roll Call Vote:  Phillip Smith – yes; Scott Oldham – yes; Dianna Bastin – yes; David Drake – absent; Dan Swafford – absent.  Motion carried 3-0.


Supervisor Comments

Connie Griffin, Director of Planning Services informed the Council of the Request for Rezone presented to the Plan Commission for Keith and Deborah Hoffman at 4910 W SR 46.  They have complied with all requirements for rezone and the Plan Commission did grant favorable approval of a rezone.  It will come before the February 22nd Town Council Regular meeting for a second reading.

Connie Griffin then presented the 2010 goals for the Planning Department.  She did add the Stormwater Permit Renewal Inspection.  She has broken these goals down into different dates so she can stay on target for introducing public hearing notices and those are listed.  She also presented the Stormwater Permit Renewal information.  A site inspection was conducted on May 28th at the Monroe County Highway Department.  She and Kip Headdy attended.


Privilege of the Floor

Dianna Bastin, stated that the Street Department, the Police Department, Monroe County and State Highway Departments work very hard during the snowfall to clear the roads so everyone, but especially the emergency vehicles, can get around.  Since more snow is forecast she asked that everyone take their cars off the road, if possible, to keep their thoroughfares clear as much as possible.  Also, watch out for these guys as they travel down the roadways because they can’t see you as well as you might think.  Phillip Smith also asked everyone to keep their sidewalks clean.

Phillip Smith raised the issue of the 2010 Census.  Visit 2010census.gov online to get more information.  Dianna Bastin added the main thing is to fill out the forms and mail them back when they come.



Phillip Smith entertained a motion to adjourn.  Scott Oldham so moved. Dianna Bastin seconded.  Motion carried.  Phillip Smith adjourned the meeting at 7:52 p.m.



Phillip Smith, President                                      Scott Oldham, Vice-President



Dianna Bastin                                                              David Drake



Dan Swafford                                                               Sandra C. Hash, Clerk-Treasurer