March 10, 2008




The Ellettsville, Indiana, Town Council met in regular session on Monday, March 10, 2008, at the Fire Department Training and Conference Room.  Dianna S. Bastin called the meeting to order at 7:30 p.m.  David Drake led the Pledge of Allegiance and Phillip Smith led in prayer. 


Roll Call:  Members present were Dianna S. Bastin, Vice-President; David Drake, Brian Mobley and Phillip Smith.  Sandra Hash, Clerk Treasurer and Mike Spencer, Attorney were also present.  Dan Swafford was absent.


Supervisors Present:    Jim Davis, Jim Ragle, Mike Farmer and Frank Nierzwicki were present.  


Approval of the minutes


Dianna Bastin entertained a motion for the approval of the minutes for the Regular Meeting February 25, 2008 and the Executive Session February 26, 2008.  David Drake so moved.  Phillip Smith seconded.  Motion carried.


Action to Pay Accounts Payable Vouchers


Dianna Bastin asked for a motion for action to pay Accounts Payable Vouchers.  David Drake so moved.  Phillip Smith seconded.   Motion carried.




Resolution 04-08 to Declare Surplus Property


Jim Davis, Ellettsville Fire explained the Fire Department has a 1970 Ford Econoline van that is no longer needed and would like to dispose of it.  Brian Mobley clarified it is okay to advertise this on the internet.  David Drake made a motion we adopt Resolution 04-08.  Brian Mobley seconded.  Roll call vote:  Dianna Bastin – yes; David Drake – yes; Brian Mobley – yes; Phillip Smith – yes.  Motion carried 4-0.


New Business


Jim Davis presented a proposal, from the Fire Department Board of Officers, to add additional officers’ ranks to the Fire Department.  He explained the Fire Department had, over the years, two Assistant Chiefs, two Captains and three Sergeants answering 150 calls.  They presently have one Captain, one Sergeant and one Lieutenant responding to 1,560 calls last year.  He would like to structure the Fire Department to have shift officers in order to give a clear chain of command for all emergencies they are responding to.  The additional officers would be:  one Captain, 2 Lieutenants and one Sergeant.  The proposal was posted for all Fire Department members to review and give opinions on.  There were no complaints; only good comments.  These new ranks will receive extra pay next year since this is not currently in the budget.  The increase will be $2,250 overall.  David Drake clarified the goal of this proposal is to have a ranking officer on duty at each station at all times.  Brain Mobley made a motion to accept the proposal.  David Drake seconded.  Motion carried. 


Dianna Bastin announced Marshal Darland has tendered his resignation, effective tonight, due to concerns about his physical ability to make it through the Law Enforcement Academy.  Brian Mobley made a motion to accept his resignation.  David Drake seconded.  Roll call vote:  Dianna Bastin – yes; David Drake – yes; Brian Mobley – yes; Phillip Smith – yes.  Motion carried 4-0.


Dianna Bastin announced it is the consensus of the Board to hire from the list of applicants from last year.  Brian Mobley made a motion to appoint Tony Bowlen as the Marshal of Ellettsville at the current salary as stated.  David Drake seconded.  Roll call vote:  Dianna Bastin – yes; David Drake – yes; Brian Mobley – yes; Phillip Smith – yes.  Motion carried 4-0.


Dianna Bastin stated the Ellettsville Police Department will be posting a position for a Deputy Marshal in the near future to fill the vacancy. 


Privilege of the Floor


Stuart York, writer of made a few general comments.  He has been objected by some people and feels the Town Council should be “ambassadors” to the town.  He commended Sandra Hash, Amber Ragle and Connie Griffin for being very helpful and pleasant with all his dealings.  He spoke of his interviewing experience with Gary Darland to be refreshing, open, honest, frank and upbeat.  He also asked about the sculpting shed located in the Vine Street parking lot.  It was approved in October 2003 to be located there for the sculpting of two life size statues for the Masonic Lodge.  His understanding, at that time, the shed was not going to be land, yield use but to support the arts for that particular project.  The project is finished and there is a for sale sign on the shed.  Is anyone going to ask the Masonic Lodge to remove the shed?  David Drake will have Frank Nierzwicki check into it.  Jim Ragle, Ellettsville Street Department informed the Council he has spoke with Dick Jacobs about the shed a few months ago but has not heard anything else. 


Doug Norton, Capitol Avenue resident asked if the Town Marshal position needs to be posted before a successor is named.  Brian Mobley stated the Town Marshal is an appointed position. 


Sandra Hash received a contract for COBRA (Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1986) Administration and is requesting permission to forward it to the Town Attorney for review.  Dianna asked Sandra to explain.  Sandra stated COBRA is an Act (Federal Law) that provides temporary continuation of group health coverage that otherwise might be terminated when employees separate from employment or have a qualifying event.  It would be the responsibility of the employee to pay the full premium, but they would be able to remain on the town’s health insurance plan for up to 36 months.  If the guidelines are not met, there can be a fine.  The Health Insurance Company suggested a COBRA administration policy.  It was also recommended at a Human Resource class through the Clerk’s League.  Dianna Bastin does not have problem having the Town Attorney review the contract.  Sandra also read a thank you letter from the Red Cross thanking the Town for the annual Proclamation. 


Council comments


Brian Mobley heard the Planning Department is complete and he commended the Street Department for an excellent job.  He also congratulated the Edgewood Basketball Team and Jay Brown for their efforts going to Regional. 


David Drake further explained a list was established by the Council last year with their top three candidates when interviewing for the new Town Marshal.  Tony Bowlen was the next name on the list and that is why he was appointed tonight.  David Drake feels it is important to reward “your own people” before you look to the outside. 


Dianna Bastin introduced Anthony Bowlen as the new Town Marshal and asked Sandra to swear him in.  Sandra Hash swore Anthony “Tony” Bowlen in as Town Marshal. 




Phillip Smith made a motion to adjourn.  Brian Mobley seconded.  Motion carried.  Dianna Bastin adjourned the meeting at 7:54 p.m.