March 27, 2017




The Ellettsville, Indiana, Town Council met for a regular meeting on Monday, March 27, 2017, at the Fire Department Training and Conference Room.  Dianna S. Bastin called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.  Boy Scouts led the Pledge of Allegiance followed with a prayer by Scott Thomas.


Roll Call:  Members present were Dianna S. Bastin, Vice President; Kevin Farris, Brian Mobley and Scott Thomas.  Scott Oldham was absent.  Darla Brown, Town Attorney; and Rick Coppock, Bynum Fanyo and Associates, Town Engineer; and Jim Davis, Town Manager, were also present. 


Supervisors present were: Mike Cornman, Danny Stalcup, Jimmie Durnil, Kevin Tolloty, Jeff Farmer and Mike Farmer.  Amber Ragle-Wright represented the Clerk-Treasurer’s office.


Approval of Minutes


Dianna S. Bastin entertained a motion for approval of the minutes for the regular meeting on March 13, 2017.  Kevin Farris so moved.  Scott Thomas seconded.  Motion carried.


Accounts Payable Vouchers


Dianna S. Bastin entertained a motion for action to pay Accounts Payable Vouchers.  Mr. Mobley commented on claims.  Kevin Farris so moved.  Scott Thomas seconded.  Motion carried. 


Old Business


Flood Report


Brian Mobley has nothing to report until after the stormwater rate increase.


New Business


Police Year End Report – Jimmie Durnil


Town Marshal Jimmie Durnil presented the 2016 Annual Report for the Police Department.


Hiring of a Temporary Full Time Employee for Utilities – Mike Farmer


Mike Farmer, Ellettsville Utilities, explained they continue to increase their crew due to the day-to-day demands of Utilities and their capital improvement projects.  He is requesting to hire Jacob Smith for a temporary full time Labor 1 position.  His pay rate will be $17.50 per hour and the position will last until December 31, 2017.  Ms. Bastin asked if he will use equipment and drive trucks.  Mr. Farmer answered he does not have a CDL but he is working on obtaining it.


Dianna S. Bastin entertained a motion to hire Jacob Smith for Utilities.  Kevin Farris so moved.  Scott Thomas seconded.  Roll call vote:  Dianna S. Bastin – yes; Kevin Farris – yes; Scott Thomas – yes; and Brian Mobley – yes.  Motion carried.


Renewing Plymate Contracts


Mike Farmer, Ellettsville Utilities, is in the process of getting new mats including two with a Town Seal for new Town Hall.  Plymate is investing a lot of money in the mats and they have asked for a contract to be signed and in return the Town will receive a price break.  Ms. Ragle-Wright noted each department is paying $10 on the service charge and Plymate will split it between the four departments.  The Town has been with Plymate for two years and they do a good job and keep their prices low.  Plymate is a family owned business in Indiana.   


Dianna S. Bastin asked Town Council’s preference as to whether or not to approve the contract in the Clerk-Treasurer’s absence.  Council members agreed to move forward with approving the contract.

Dianna S. Bastin entertained a motion to renew Plymate’s contract.  Scott Thomas made such a motion.  Kevin Farris seconded.  Roll call vote:  Dianna S. Bastin – yes; Kevin Farris – yes; Scott Thomas – yes; and Brian Mobley – yes.  Motion carried.


Council Comments


Dianna S. Bastin apologized to the employees hired at the last Town Council meeting as well as Deputy Marshal Alec Leggio for not being present due to her health.  She is winning the battle against cancer but could not attend.  Raymond Warthan of the Fire Department attended the meeting.  They’re important to her and the Durnils.  All employees are important to her.  She wanted them to know why she was not present because she has not announced it publicly and is not doing so for sympathy.  Congratulations on the new jobs and she looks forward to seeing them out and about.


Scott Thomas appreciates the Town and their employees.  They don’t realize what a great job they do until it touches their lives.  He had an unfortunate situation on the road with another driver and, happily, he wasn’t involved.  Ellettsville’s Police Department responded immediately and stayed involved.  Thank you to all employees on a great job.


Brian Mobley appreciates the building.  It took a tremendous effort to get everything built and moved.  He appreciates everyone’s effort.


Town Manager’s Comments


Jim Davis, Town Manager, thanked Town employees for doing an excellent job of moving and assisting with many different jobs.  Everyone worked well together.  There are still several small issues to be resolved and it will take a little time to work out the bugs.


Supervisors Comments


Kevin Tolloty, Planning Director, presented the Annual Report for the Planning Department.  He thanked everyone who helped the Planning Department move into the new Town Hall especially Danny Stalcup and the Street Department.  This is his third year working for the Town.  He has really enjoyed it and everyone has been very helpful. 


Town Marshal Jimmie Durnil advised the local Fraternal Order of Police has approached the Police Department to host the Annual Police Officer Memorial Service.  He would like to have the service in front of the new Town Hall and should it rain they would like to use the shelter house.  They will need 30 chairs.  With Town Council approval he would like to commit to the service which will be held on May 15, 2017, at 11:00 a.m.  The Police Department will also hold an open house on that date.  He is also requesting the new Town Hall be open so people can tour it.  Town Council approved the request. 


Jeff Farmer, Ellettsville Utilities, announced bid packets for the Phosphorus Building are available.  The new Town Hall is a wonderful building.  Many people made it happen.  Kudos to everyone.  It was nice to see the Boy Scouts and Cub Scouts at the meeting.


Mike Farmer, Ellettsville Utilities, thanked Neidigh Construction for doing a good job.  Ms. Bastin agreed and commented Neidigh’s personnel were very nice and helpful.  Thank you Mr. Neidigh for building our Town Hall.




Dianna S. Bastin entertained a motion to adjourn.  Kevin Farris so moved.  Scott Thomas seconded.  Dianna S. Bastin adjourned the meeting at 6:54 p.m.