Park and Recreation Board

May 7, 2001



The Ellettsville Parks and Recreation Board met on Monday, May 7, 2001 at the Ellettsville Town Hall. Members present were Darlyne Sowder, President; Art Moynihan, Vice President; Patrick Stoffers, Secretary; L.D. Axsom, and Edwin Macatangay. Also attending the meeting were Don Lewis, Richland Township Trustee; and Jerry Pittsford, Town Council President.




Darlyne Sowder spoke briefly regarding the channeling of water to Jack's Defeat                             Creek at various locations along State Road 46 in association with the highway construction.




Don Lewis spoke to the board about the property the township owns where the Skate Park is located and his desire to maintain the approximate ten acres as a park with the stipulation that the park be named Marci Lewis Park. This property includes the Ellettsville Police and Fire Station.  Don said the building could be used for recreation purposes such as in-door basketball at some future date as an example. Don said he is only waiting to receive a clear title to the deed for the property from R-BB School Corporation, which has previously approved returning the property to the township. Don said he wants to work with the town to maintain and further develop this property for park purposes.


There was discussion regarding the steps needed to be taken to open the Skate Park as well as create the Marci Lewis Park. The steps listed are as follows:


1.        The township obtains clear title to the property.

2.        The Parks Board enters in to a lease with the township.

3.        The Town Council establishes a parks non-reverting fund for insurance proceeds.

4.         The Town Council adopts the property as a town park.

5.         The Clerk-Treasurer pays the insurance premium on the Skate Park.

6.         The Parks Board adopts skate park rules and regulations.    


Jerry Pittsford discussed with the board 20 acres the town owns adjacent to the new school location and 4 acres the town owns in the vicinity of West Main and Temperance Streets.                                                     


Art Moynihan made a motion to adjourn. Patrick Stoffers seconded the motion. The motion passed.






_____________________________                       ____________________________

Darlyne Sowder, President                                      Art Moynihan, Vice President






_____________________________                       ____________________________   

L.D. Axsom                                                             Edwin Macatangay








      Patrick Stoffers, Secretary