The Ellettsville Parks and Recreation Board met on Wednesday, May 7, 2008 at the Fire Department Training and Conference Center. Jimmie Durnil called the meeting to order at 5:30 pm and led the Pledge of Allegiance. Members present were Jimmie Durnil, President; Geraldine McIntyre, Vice-President; Amber Ragle and Michael Griffey. Richard Pease was absent.


Approve Minutes of April 7, 2008

Michael Griffey made the motion to approve the minutes of the April 7, 2008 meeting. Geraldine McIntyre seconded. Motion carried.


Review Accounts Payable Expenditures

Amber Ragle stated the electric bills were paid and mulch was bought for Campbellís Park for $245. The new part-time person has been hired and he started Monday. His name is Dallas Honeycutt.


New Business

Jimmie Durnil asked about the flowers at the gateway islands. Amber explained Sandra spoke with Tom Orman and he will do the same as last year. A time needs to be set for planting.


Amber Ragle announced $32 was received in coke machine proceeds.


Michael Griffey spoke with Town Marshal Tony Bowlen about the vandalism of the restrooms, picnic tables, shelter houses, etc in the parks. Michael Griffey suggested having an officer set up a camera in the Street Department break room to watch the park. Everything can be seen from that location. Tony Bowlen agreed this was a good idea. Michael spoke with Jay Humphrey who also thought it was a wonderful idea and was going to get something started. This was about three weeks ago and nothing has happened. Michael will get touch with Jay or Tony next week. There has not been any vandalism lately.


Michael Griffey also informed the board the Street Department has re-done the large shelter house at Campbellís Park. The block wall was starting to fall and was in need of some repairs. They laid new blocks and re-graded the grass around the shelter and it looks much better now.


Amber Ragle announced the next meeting will be held Monday, June 2, 2008. Jimmie Durnil will be out of town that week and will not be able to attend.



Michael Griffey made a motion to adjourn. Geraldine McIntyre seconded. Motion carried. Jimmie Durnil adjourned the meeting.