September 14, 2009




The Ellettsville, Indiana, Town Council met for a Regular Meeting on Monday, September 14, 2009, at the Fire Department Training and Conference Room.  Dianna Bastin called the meeting to order at 7:30 p.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance and Phillip Smith led in prayer. 


Roll Call:  Members present were Dianna Bastin, President; David Drake, Vice-President; Phillip Smith and Dan Swafford.  Sandra Hash, Clerk-Treasurer; Mike Spencer, Town Attorney and Darla Brown, Attorney were also present.  Scott Oldham was absent. 


Supervisors Present:  Jim Davis, Jim Ragle, Mike Farmer and Jeff Farmer were present.


Approval of Minutes


Dianna Bastin entertained a motion for the approval of the minutes for the Regular Meeting August 24 and the Executive Session September 8, 2009.   David Drake so moved.   Dan Swafford seconded.  Motion carried.


Accounts Payable Vouchers


Dianna Bastin entertained a motion for an action to pay Accounts Payable Vouchers.  Dan Swafford so moved.  David Drake seconded.  Motion carried.


Ordinance on First Reading


Ordinance 09-22 to amend Chapter 73 and 74 of the Ellettsville Town Code concerning traffic


Sandra Hash presented an update of Schedule of Maximum Speed Limits, Schedule of Stop Intersections, Schedule of Through Streets/ Stop Streets and Schedule of No Parking Areas. 


Ordinance on Second Reading


Ordinance 09-20 to adopt Supplement 2009-6 to the Town of Ellettsville, Indiana Code of Ordinances


Sandra Hash explained this is a standard procedure that is done annually.  All the ordinances, which have passed since May 2008, were mailed to American Legal Publishing who updates the Town Code of Ordinances.  This ordinance accepts all the updates.


David Drake made a motion we adopt Ordinance 09-20.  Phillip Smith seconded.  Roll call vote:  Dianna Bastin – yes; David Drake – yes; Phillip Smith – yes; Dan Swafford – yes.  Motion carried 4-0.


New Business


Selection of Consultants for the I-69 Grant


Connie Griffin announced she, Sandra Hash and Jim Ragle met with seven consultants to complete the I-69 Community Development Grant.  The consultants hired will need to conduct work on the following:


  • Capital Improvement Plan (CIP)
  • Green Space Inventory (GSI)
  • Well’s Park Plant and Animal Inventory (WP)


There will be a new timeline once the consultant has been selected.   They will compile the data and finish the remaining elements of the contractual elements and write report.


Additional Elements:

  • Address and protect natural resources
  • Enhance local planning capacity
  • Direct development and growth within the Town’s redevelopment area
  • Work with the Ellettsville Parks Board with the recreational plan
  • Subdivision Ordinance changes
  • Work with Monroe County Planning Department to update the Ellettsville Area Rural Community Plan
  • Downtown studies


The grant has $35,525.11 in funds remaining.  The consultants were asked to break down their proposals into categories.  Connie presented those break downs to the Council with the following recommendation:

  • Maximus to work on the Capital Improvement Plan for $5,000
  • Schneider to work on the Green Space Inventory for $6,800
  • Ecologic, Inc work on the Well’s Park Plant and Animal Inventory for $4,429


For a grand total of $16,229.00


Connie asked Stephen Smith (AICP, Manager, Long-Range Transportation Planning Section of INDOT) about any provisions to this grant.  Connie would like to purchase software to help with this process with the remaining money.  Stephen Smith would like for the Town to use the remaining money to potentially hire a part-time person to assist with the grant and assist Connie with complying reports that need to be submitted to INDOT. 


David Drake made a motion we approve the recommendation to hire Maximus Consulting for the CIP plan for $5,000; Schneider Corporation for GSI for $6,800 and Ecologic for the WP study for $4,429 for a total of $16,229.  Phillip Smith seconded.  Roll call vote: Dianna Bastin – yes; David Drake – yes; Phillip Smith – yes; Dan Swafford – yes.  Motion carried 4-0.


Safe Route to School (SRTS) Report


Connie Griffin presented the Council with an eleven page report.  Included in this report is a Chronological Order of Events and Actions starting October 2005.  The status of the SRTS Project:

  • January and February 2009 four people scored the Request for Proposal (RFP) consultants
  • February 2009, six consultants responded with a letter of interest to work on the SRTS project (one of the consultants were not prequalified with INDOT)
  • The RFP scores were tabulated, reviewed and corrected
  • The RFP consultants are ranked in order by their scores and the information becomes part of a check list that is submitted to INDOT (Seymour District) for review and signature
  • Seymour District will notify the Town when the Check List has been approved
  • The selected consultant will then be notified and an agreement negotiation can begin
  • The checklist states there needs to be an “Employee In Responsible Charge” (ERC) for the local public agency


Privilege of the Floor


Fall Festival


Brooke Marks, Monroe County Fall Festival President thanked the town departments for their cooperation especially the Street Department.  Dianna Bastin announced Park Street will be closed during the Fall Festival Thursday through Saturday.  The parade will be Saturday at noon. 


Safe Route to School” project


Steve Kain, RBB School Superintendent thanked the Town Council for providing leadership on the “Safe Route to School” project.


Council Comments


David Drake stated the school corporation is in the midst of an accreditation process.  The school corporation will have a booth set up for a survey at the Fall Festival (in the Indiana Farm Bureau trailer).  The survey is designed for parents and community members to answer questions regarding the school corporation. 


Dianna Bastin attended a local committee meeting with representatives of Smithville Telephone, Main Street and the Chamber of Commerce.  The Office of Community and Rural Affairs (OCRA) would like to have a public information gathering session to find out what the residences of Ellettsville expect.  OCRA needs the Council help inviting people to a development meeting.  They are interested in getting school groups involved (National Honor Society and athletes). 


Dianna Bastin made a motion to invite the Community and Rural Affairs office to come and do their public information gathering session.  David Drake made the motion.  Phillip Smith seconded.  Motion carried.




David Drake made a motion we adjourn.  Dan Swafford seconded.  Motion carried.  Dianna Bastin adjourned the meeting at 7:52 p.m.