Park and Recreation Board

September 3, 2002


The Ellettsville Parks and Recreation Board met on Tuesday, September 3, 2002 at the Ellettsville Town Hall.Members present were Darlyne Sowder, President; Edwin Macatangay, Vice President; L.D. Axsom, and Jeff Frownfelter.Art Moynihan, Secretary, was absent.


Guests: Sandra Hash and Kathy Cerajeski


Mrs. Sowder called the meeting to order at 7:00pm.



Mr. Macatangay made a motion to approve the minutes from August 6, 2002.Mr. Axsom seconded the motion.Motion passed 4-0.



Sandra Hash explained all aspects of the budget.


Public Comment None


Five Year Master Plan

David Sorokoty and Deborah Hudson were not able to attend tonightís meeting.Discussion of the 5 year plan will be deferred to the next meeting.


Skate Park

Mr. Macatangay made a motion to appoint Kathy Cerajeski as Chairperson of the Skate Park Advisory Committee.Mr. Axsom seconded.Motion passed 4-0.


Kathy Cerajeski said that she will present 3 designs at the October meeting for the Mural Grant ($270).


Wishing Well Nature Park

A.Land Survey

††††††††††† David Sorokoty was not present.This item was tabled until next meeting.


††††††††††† Board members will tour various parks in the near future that contain boardwalks.††††††† This will give them insight on possibilities for the Wishing Well Nature Park.


††††††††††† Mrs. Sowder reported that Rick Moore quoted a price of $400.00 to spray and ††††††††† open the trail. (6í wide)


††††††††††† Mr. Macatangay made a motion to hire Rick Moore to spray and open a six foot ††††††††† wide trail at the cost of $400.00.Mr. Axsom seconded.The motion passed 4-0.

D.Student Help

††††††††††† Mrs. Sowder reported that students will help spread the mulch on the trail.


New Business

Mrs. Sowder explained that the toilets at Campellís Park were vandalized.A discussion on possibly moving the restrooms next to the Skate Park was held.No decision was made.




Mr. Frownfelter made a motion to adjourn.Mr. Macatangay seconded the motion.Motion passed 4-0 and the meeting was adjourned at 9:25pm.



_________________________††††††††††††††††††††† _____________________________

Darlyne Sowder, President†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† Edwin Macatangay, Vice President


_________________________††††††††††††††††††††† _____________________________

L. D Axsom†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† Jeff Frownfelter



Art Moynihan, Secretary