September 6, 2005Ellettsville Parks and Recreation Board meeting Minutes


The Ellettsville Parks and Recreation Board met on September 6, 2005 at the Fire Station Training and Conference Room. Members present were Jeff Frownfelter, President; Edwin Macatangay, Vice President and Geraldine McIntyre.


Minutes from Previous Meetings

Geraldine McIntyre motioned to accept the minutes from the August Meeting. Edwin Macatangay seconded. Motion carried.



No review of the budget was conducted at this meeting as the members did not have access to the previous month expenditures.


There was a short discussion of ways to present a case to the town council for more money to be appropriated to the parks budget. Edwin was wondering if detailed records demonstrating actual man hours spent and receipts relating to expenditures on parks properties would shed any light on actual costs of maintaining properties belonging to the parks. There is concern from the Parks Board that the true costs are never fully accounted for during the year. The amount allotted in the 2006 budget seems very inadequate. This will be an ever-increasing problem as more properties may come under the jurisdiction of the Parks Board. The new shelter house being built in the former skate park area and the town entrances at either end of the highway split are examples of properties that could pose additional long term maintenance costs for the Parks budget.


Floor Open for Public Comment

No public Comment.


Wishing Well Nature Park

No new items for the Wishing Well Nature Park.


Campbellís Park

House of Prayer will be using these facilities in October.


New Business

Ongoing concerns about the roles and capabilities of the Parks Board members and their ability to find time during working normal hours of the day to conduct research and find answers to questions or proposals generated from the meetings. The Town of Ellettsville may have better use of monies with a part or full time person within the Street Department or under the Town Planner office.


The meeting was moved to adjourn by Geraldine McIntyre. Edwin Macatangay seconded. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 7:30 PM.