March 2, 2000


The Ellettsville, Indiana, Plan Commission met in regular session at 7:00 p.m., Thursday, March 2, 2000. Members present were Kevin Farris, President, David Sorokoty, Vice President, David Drake, Secretary, Terry Baker, Frank Buczolich, Sandra Hash and Geraldine McIntyre. Mr. Farris called the meeting to order.


Bill Land- Town Planner presented his plan for a Planning Study Area for the East Ellettsville Area. This plan will cover the areas east of Ellettsville that the Town would like to annex in the next several years. It will be a blueprint for the development and use of the area and will cover things like land use, transportation, and public facilities. Land indicated that a steering committee would be formed soon to address the issue, and that neighborhood surveys would be done in the effected areas to determine what the citizen concerns are. He would like to have a plan ready for public hearings by July.


The minutes of the last regular meeting, February 7, 2000, were reviewed. McIntyre moved that the minutes be approved with the correction of some names, and Baker seconded the motion. The motion passed with a unanimous vote.

The minutes of the special session held on February 24, 2000, concerning communications towers, were reviewed. McIntyre moved that the minutes be approved, and Sorokoty seconded the motion. The motion passed with a unanimous vote.

Melvin Sutherlin requested an extension on the Preliminary Plat of Deer Field Addition on Thomas Road, across from Arrowhead Addition. There was some discussion for new members that Plan Commission rules require a developer to apply for an extension on their preliminary plat every 6 months. Sutherlin explained that he still plans to develop the property, and that the engineering work is done, but he has had his money tied up on some other things recently and hasnít been able to get started yet. Sorokoty commented that he was glad to see that the plans for this subdivision included 2 entrances off of Thomas Road, not just 1 entrance into the project. Sorokoty moved that the extension request be approved, and McIntyre seconded the motion. The motion passed with a unanimous vote.


McIntyre announced that Pat Mitchell had tendered her resignation from the Plan Commission, effective March 1, 2000, due to time conflicts with her job. McIntyre announced the appointment of David Drake to fill Mitchellís vacancy on the Plan Commission, and her position as Secretary of the Commission.

Sorokoty indicated that he has received further complaints regarding the Edgewood Heights construction. There were complaints of erosion control violations and drainage problems, as well as complaints about trash and questions about fencing. Farris suggested that Rick Coppock- Town Engineer, Jim Davis- Building Inspector, and Geraldine McIntyre- Town Council President, look at the site and determine what action may need to be taken.


McIntyre moved that the meeting be adjourned, and Sorokoty seconded the motion. The motion passed with a unanimous vote.

Kevin Farris, President

David Sorokoty, Vice President

Terry Baker

Frank Buczolich

Sandra Hash

Geraldine McIntyre

David Drake, Secretary