November 27, 2000

The Ellettsville, Indiana, Town Council met in regular session at 7:30 PM, Monday, November 27, 2000. Members present were Geraldine McIntyre, President; David Drake, and David Sorokoty. Jerry Pittsford and Mike Cornman were absent. Geraldine McIntyre called the meeting to order. Dave Sorokoty led the Pledge of Allegiance. David Drake gave the prayer.


Resolution 18-00

David Sorokoty read Resolution 18-00 as follows:


WHEREAS, it has been determined that more money is needed than is currently available in certain funds and appropriations:

THEREFORE, be it resolved by the Ellettsville Town Council that the following transfers or temporary loans are hereby authorized:

FROM: Police 109 Part-time $4,000.00

TO: Police 108 Overtime $4,000.00

FROM: Police 231 Vehicle Repair $933.35

TO: Fire 231 Truck Repair $933.35

FROM: Park 116 Part-time laborer $718.00

TO: Park 353 Electric Service $718.00

Dated this 27th day of November 2000.

David Sorokoty made a motion to approve Resolution 18-00. David Drake seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Jim Davis explained this was for work Kevin Patton had done on the Police vehicles.

Resolution 19-00

David Sorokoty read the Resolution as follows:


WHEREAS the Board of Commissioners of Monroe County own certain real estate located and described as original plat, Lot Twenty-four (24) to the Town of Ellettsville, Indiana; and,

WHEREAS the Town of Ellettsville has created a public park and erected a veterans’ memorial on said premises, and have maintained said premises for benefit of the public; and,

WHEREAS the Board of Commissioners has offered to convey said real estate to the Town of Ellettsville, Indiana upon terms and conditions set forth in the quit-claim deed, a copy of which is attached to this resolution

IT IS THEREFORE RESOLVED, pursuant to I.C. 36-1-11-8, That the Board of Commissioners of Monroe County, Indiana will convey, and the Town of Ellettsville will accept said real estate and improvements on the terms and conditions more fully set forth in the quit-claim, a copy of which is attached as Exhibit A.


THIS INDENTURE WITNESSED, that the Board of Commissioners of Monroe County, Indiana ‘Grantor" in consideration of one Dollar ($1.00) and other valuable consideration, the receipt of which is hereby acknowledged, RELEASES and QUIT-CLAIMS to the Town of Ellettsville, Indiana ‘Grantee" the following described real estate in Monroe County, Indiana, namely:

Original Plat, Lot Twenty-Four (24) in the Town of Ellettsville, Indiana, also know as Lot No. Twenty-Four (24) in Beaman’s Addition to the Town of Ellettsville, Monroe County, Indiana

so long as the real estate continues to be used by the Grantee exclusively for purposes of a public parks or veterans’ memorial, and if it be used for other purposes, it shall revert to the Grantor of its successors in interest.

David Sorokoty moved to accept Town Resolution 19-00 a joint with Monroe County to transfer ownership of Memorial Park from Monroe County to Ellettsville. David Drake seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Minutes and Claims

David Drake made a motion to the pass minutes and claims, David Sorokoty seconded. Motion carried.


Ron McGlocklin

Ron requested an executive meeting with the Council before the end of the year to discuss personnel issues.

David Sorokoty

David announced he had reviewed a few applications for a part-time police office. He requested the filling of the officer position be placed on the next agenda.

David Drake

David expressed his appreciation to the Street Department for putting up the Christmas Decorations.

Geraldine McIntyre

Geraldine explained that she had forwarded a letter to Jerry Barnes giving the stage to the state. When the stage is demolished in March of April of 2001 both the Fall Festival and Mason would like some of the limestone.

Mike Spencer

In response to a question concerning the status of the Police Dog, Mike replied the lawsuit has been filed.

David Sorokoty made a motion to adjourn. David Drake seconded the motion. Motion passed. Meeting adjourned at 7:43 PM.


D. Geraldine McIntyre, President

Jerry Pittsford, Vice President

Mike Cornman

David Drake

David Sorokoty


Sandra C. Hash, Clerk-Treasurer